Bravery: the story of a yucky old bar cart.

When it comes to creating, I am the farthest thing from a perfectionist. My older sister, Sarah, is very precise.  She will read up, measure, do the math etc. I more of a wing-it kind of gal.

Real talk:

I tried my hand at gardening last summer too. I (accidently) bought 12 foot tall sunflower seeds. Believe it or not, they don’t grow well in tiny terracotta pots. And your soil needs to be more than a few inches deep in order to grow a head of lettuce. Haha. Stupid.

I also started sewing this year. Whenever I wear something that I’ve sewn, you’ll know it because it’ll be covered by a denim jacket and lots of jewelry. Sleeves and necklines are hard!

I built the raised garden bed earlier this Spring, and while the plants are growing well, the wooden bottom is bowing out a little. So maybe by next year I’ll have both gardening and building skills. That would be a miracle.

These thoughts are going somewhere. I think we avoid doing things because our results  won’t be perfect. I’m currently reading an inspiring book called “The Nesting Place,” which really beautifully discusses what it looks like to make a home. I think everyone wants to create a home that welcomes people, cultivates authenticity and relationships, and allows for mistakes.  But if we don’t allow ourselves to get messy in the process of homemaking, how can we expect the people we welcome into our homes to be vulnerable and authentic. Does that make sense? haha.

I’m just thinking back to last week when I was at my parents house. I bought this disgusting, dog hair covered bar cart. It was incredibly rusty and an awful olive green. My parents very lovingly let me rampage the home and yard with a sander, priming supplies, and spray paint. If you have ever been to my parents, you know that we’re not about keeping things free from dust. We’re about dissecting frogs at the kitchen table, while conversing with the person making omelets. We’re about walking to the chicken coop together, to round them up. We’re about long conversations around the campfire, and lazy days laying out in the sun. I’m so thankful that my parents created a home that allows for mistakes, and messes, and tears, and weird stories.

Being really excited to paint the bar cart. Probably because of the fumes. Also I had smurf feet for days later.

Being really excited to paint the bar cart. Probably because of the fumes. Also I had smurf feet for days later.

Before and after. Pretty neat, huh?

 

In her book, “Bread and Wine,” author Shauna Niequest wrote: “What people are craving isn’t perfection. People aren’t longing to be impressed; they’re longing to feel like they’re home. If you create a space full of love and character and creativity and soul, they’ll take off their shoes and curl up with gratitude and rest, no matter how small, no matter how undone, no matter how odd.”

Serving its function as a bedside table. Thanks Dana for the awesome quilted placemat!

Serving its function as a bedside table. Thanks Dana for the awesome quilted placemat!

Let’s not be perfect. Let’s be authentic and present. Let’s make messes and memories. Let’s be brave and create space for mistakes. Let’s buy the $10.00 bar cart and spray paint it bright blue.

 

Love always,

Rachel

3 thoughts on “Bravery: the story of a yucky old bar cart.

  1. Can I read that book about nesting?? I want to be assured that my “nesting” feelings are valid even though I’m just preparing to move into a new house and not preparing for a baby!

Leave a Reply

