$15 Food Challenge: Week 2

Hello again!

So week 1 of this food challenge went well! Except for on Monday when I lectured for 6 hours straight and then bought and ate 2 donuts. But you’ll have that. Haha.  This week i’ll be testing my hand at cooking lentils, which I have never done before. I’m excited though because they’re super cheap (and packed with iron, fiber, and protein!).

CAM00377

This week I switched up my grocery store of choice, and went to Aldis. These are the goods:

  • 11 (yes 11!) McIntosh Apples: 1.99
  • Carrots: .99
  • Huge tub of oats: 2.29
  • Tortillas: .99
  • Salsa: 1.69
  • Mozzarella: 1.49
  • Gallon of vitamin D milk: 2.49
  • 4 Bananas: .95
  • 10 pounds of russet potatoes: 2.49
  • 2 cans of garbanzo beans: 1.65
  • 1 can tomatoes: .80
  • Green lentils: 1.25

So, yes, if you’re adding this up, I am a little over $15.00. But i’m okay with that because I bought bulk oats and potatoes, which kind of made me feel like I was shopping for the Oregon Trail…anyways. That is so much food for under $20.00! I also still have some left over ingredients from last week (kale, chicken, lettuce), and some ingredients that i’ve had for quite a while (half-used pasta sauce,  frozen ground beef and  beans).  Here’s the dinner menu:

Saturday: Kale, carrot, lentil, garbanzo bean stew

Sunday:  Sweet Potato Chili ( with ground beef, assortment of beans, tomatoes)

Monday: Pasta (using the ground beef from yesterday)

Tuesday: Calzone (using yesterday’s sauce)

Wednesday: Veggie Fritatta

Thursday: Sunday’s leftovers

Friday:  Rice and Black Bean Burritos

For breakfast i’m going to break out my travel thermos and make oatmeal, adding a little cinnamon, apple, and brown sugar to my oats.  It’ll be nice to take a hot breakfast to campus!

For snacks I’m going to try roasted garbanzo beans and my current food crush, chia seed pudding!

Check out my sister’s $20.00 a week for 2 food challenge here

Happy, healthy eating, friends!

love,
Rachel

2 thoughts on “$15 Food Challenge: Week 2

  1. Pingback: The $20 Challenge: Week 3 | Little House Bliss

Leave a Reply

